McLaughlin on the Nashville IndyCar mogul, the force is punishing – Speedcafe

Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin qualified for the Nashville IndyCar race while Penske teammate Will Power Fast Six missed out on a penalty kick.

McLaughlin will share the front row with Andretti Autosport’s Romain Grosjean, while the Fast Six was completed by Christian Lundgaard (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing), Alex Ballou (Chip Janassi Racing), Pato Award (McLaren SP) and Joseph Newgarden (Pinsky).

However, Power dropped to eighth after causing the local yellow in the second round of the session, while both Scott Dixon and Janassi’s Marcus Ericsson failed to make it that far.

In the first weekend race of the new-spec replacement composite tires, the Fast Six started with five drivers on green used (as opposed to red) and Newgarden on black labels.

He was slower at the start as McLaughlin started things up with 1:15.2275s which is the norm when he and the other four in the greens pitted after just one lap.

Newgarden moved up to third with 1:15.4470 seconds on the third lap as that primaries came in good, but then Lundgaard moved on to the top with 1:14.7149 on his second run.

With the checkered flag out, Grosjean moved to the provisional pole in 1:14.6975s but McLaughlin was still on a flyer and would take qualifying honors again from the Frenchman.

Lundgaard finished third, off Palou in 1:14.9087s and O’Ward in 1:14.9261s, while Newgarden’s best in the Fast Six was 1:15.1461sec on his single black tire.

Back in the second qualifying round, McLaughlin had crossed the halfway line as fast as he could with 1:15.2446 seconds on the blacks, despite Ballou and two others starting the clip on the greens.

He was changed below the cut-off before reclaiming first place with 1:14.6788s on the Greens in the last minute before the square flag, and would have finished the second fastest clip for Palou, who set 1:14.6437s.

Power seemed to come into sixth place until he was stripped of his fastest lap for causing a local yellow that affected another driver when he ran a long way into Turn 4.

O’Ward, who was in the next car, inherited last place in the Fast Six while Queenslander slipped to eighth behind David Malukas (Dale Coyne Racing w/HMD Motosports).

Graham Rahal (RLLR) qualified ninth, ahead of Rinus Vichai (Ed Carpenter Racing), Jack Harvey (RLLR) and Dalton Kellette (AJ Foyt Racing).

In the meantime, Lundgaard advanced despite having to pass the car for causing the local yellow, since he didn’t have time on the board when he was kicked out.

Qualifying started 90 minutes late due to weather conditions, then the first set of Round 1 was halted less than three minutes later when Devlin DeFrancesco (Andretti) stopped in the middle of the track at Turn 4.

That red flag turned the period into a replacement tire-only affair, although it ended up being shorter when Colton Herta (Andretti w/Curb-Agajanian) closed and lowered the Turn 4 hurdles in the last minute.

Balo was quickest in 1:15.9983 and Dalton Kellett (AJ Foyt Racing) was the lucky receiver for sixth place in round two when he knocked out Hertha, but Alexander Rossi (Andretti) was cornered outside by teammate Brang and Felix Rosenqvist (McLaren SP) ) also missed.

In Group 2, two of Ganassi’s big guns were the most notable failures to advance.

Dixon was only able to climb from nine to seventh when he clocked 1:15.3179 with the checkered flag out, meaning Ericsson finished ninth instead, with Bauer topping the 10-minute segment in 1:14.7460.

As such, the back end of the starting grid includes 14th place Dixon, 15th Rosenqvist, 17th Rossi, 18th Eriksson and 21st Hertha, with Simona de Silvestro (Paretta Autosport) taking the place 25 at its third event of 2022.

Next is the early morning warm-up session (AEST), then the 80-lap race at 05:30 AEST.

Stan Sport’s live, ad-free coverage resumes Monday morning at 05:00 AEST.

Results to follow

#McLaughlin #Nashville #IndyCar #mogul #force #punishing #Speedcafe

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.