McLaughlin scores a starting point in the rain-delayed IndyCar playoffs

After a delay of an hour and a half due to rain and lightning, the drivers had to take the race green and risk everything in an effort to earn a qualifying position to race around the streets of Nashville.

However, over time, cars began to run on the road, all the water evaporated and allowed smooth tires to be installed from the very beginning.

When the checkered flag flew after three knockout rounds, it was Scott McLaughlin who set the fastest time in the afternoon. The Kiwi cut the city’s track in 1:14.5555, a tenth of a second over Romain Grosjean.

Pole is McLaughlin’s second in his IndyCar career, and he hopes he can turn that Pole into a win as he did in St Petersburg to open the season.

Christian Lundgaard continued to impress, locking up the rookie for the third fastest lap of the day in his RLL Honda. He will start alongside Alex Ballou in the second grade.

Pato O’Ward used his quick hands to put the Arrow McLaren SP Chevy in third row, and he will start alongside Josef Newgarden.

Will Power nearly advanced to Fast 6 along with his Penske teammates, but caused the local yellow while running and incurred a penalty that nullified his fastest lap. It will start at 8 pm on Sunday.

All three RLL drivers advanced from round one, representing a much-needed strong showing for the team. Graham Rahal and Jack Harvey were the lowest qualifiers, despite finishing ninth and eleventh respectively.

Before the first laps started, Devlin DeFrancesco parked his car at the end of the long bridge section and had to be restarted from the AMR safety crew. As a result, he was not allowed to advance, and he would start from the back of the pack.

Colton Herta also had problems on his first attempt, and Andretti Autosport Honda threw him into the hurdles. This incident adds to Hertha’s recent disappointment, and he will have to work his way out of the way back on the twenty-first.

Herta’s error also disrupted other drivers’ lanes, including teammate Alexander Rossi’s fast lap, meaning many only had time for one quick lap before the first round was completed.

Dalton Kellett was one of the drivers who profited from the misfortune of others, and driver AJ Foyt Racing advanced into the top 12 for the first time in his career. The 28-year-old will start from the sixth grade.

Last year’s race winner Marcus Ericsson underperformed and will have to try to reclaim his points lead from 18th.

Sunday’s race is scheduled to begin at 3:00 p.m. ET, when it can rain again over Nashville.

# driver time Speed ​​(mph)
1 Scott McLaughlin 01: 14.5555 101.401
2 Romain Grosjean 01: 14.6975 101.208
3 Christian Lundgaard 01: 14.7149 101.185
4 Alex Ballou 01: 14.9087 100.923
5 Batu ward 01: 14.9261 100.899
6 Joseph Newgarden 01: 15.1461 100.604
7 David Mallukas 01: 14.9616 100.852
8 Willpower 01: 14.9818 100.824
9 Graham Rahal 01: 15.3112 100.383
10 Rinus Vikai 01: 15.3897 100.279
11 Jack Harvey 01: 15.9758 99.505
12 Kellett Dalton 01: 16.5600.001 98.746
13 Simon Pagenaud 01: 19.4039 95.209
14 Scott Dixon 01: 15.3179 100.375
15th Felix Rosenqvist 01: 21.1784 93.128
16 Kyle Kirkwood 01: 15.4382 100.214
17 Alexander Rossi 01: 21.4579 992,809
18 Marcus Ericsson 01: 15.4501 100.199
19 Callum Ellot 01: 57.6982 64.232
20 Takuma Sato 01: 15.5935 100.009
21 Simona de Silvestro no time
22 Conor Daly 01: 16.3955 98.959
23 Colton Hertha no time
24 Helio Castroneves 01: 16.5898 98.708
25 Devlin de Francesco no time
26 Jimmy Johnson 01: 17.5888 97,437

#McLaughlin #scores #starting #point #raindelayed #IndyCar #playoffs

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.