Triple Crater presides over all MWL Football Awards

Triple Crater presides over all MWL Football Awards

In what proved to be a breakthrough campaign for the Crater boys soccer team, the Comets were named the conference’s top three first-team picks in a coach vote by coaches.

Crater’s Diego Estrada, Cooper Hopkins and Brayden Tester were all honored for their outstanding campaigns with the first-team honours recently, while head coach Jason Tester was named coach of this year’s MWL boys soccer after all helped the Comets clinch their first conference title in history. program last season.

Estrada was named the first-team goalkeeper after scoring five times in total and only allowing four goals in team play. He scored 36 notable saves and allowed a total of 12 goals all season.

Midfielder Hopkins scored eight goals and contributed 10 assists as an attacking motivator for Crater, while centre-back Braiden Tester acted as an anchor in the defense line and helped preserve potential shooting opportunities against Estrada.

Ashland also earned a pair of first-team honors in Cash Kota Junior and Senior Gabe Hernandez.

Cota was able to impress the Grizzlies in attack with his best nine goals and five assists, while Hernandez made a solid presence in defense to help Ashland score five strikes in total.

Young Eagle Point playmaker Moses Angel also earned first-team recognition after scoring five goals and seven assists.

In the MWL All-Girl Football Vote, Ashland seniors Joel Annen and Inanna Hammond were the only first-team picks from Rogue Valley.

The Grizzlies allowed their best six 5A goals this past season, with Annen at the center of the defensive effort on the back line to help secure nine games in 13 games.

Hammond was a key attacking fixture for Ashland, scoring eight goals and eight assists in an offense that produced 33 goals.

Anthony Tini Mambera, one of Churchill’s senior students, was named Footballer of the Year at this year’s Boys’ World Mathematical Championships. Thurston won the top MWL Girls Awards with the Abby Fitzpatrick Tournament Player of the Year award, while Benton Kanaga was named Girls Football Coach of the Year.

All-MWL Soccer


player of the year: Anthony Tinahi Mambera, Sr., Churchill.

General coach: Jason Tester, Crater.

First team

Anthony Tinahi Mambera, Sr., Churchill; Cooper Hopkins, Sr., Crater; Brayden Tester, Sr., Crater; Jacobo Contreras Benitez, Sr., Springfield; Eduardo Mendoza Beltran Sr. Springfield; Cash Kuta Jr., Ashland; Gabe Hernandez, Sr., Ashland; Moses Angel Jr., Eagle Point; Finn Dommers, Sr., Thurston; Ari Walling Jr., Churchill. Goalkeeper: Diego Estrada, Father Crater.

second team

Alex Rodriguez Mujara, Sr. Springfield; Carlos Aguilar Cruz, Sr., Springfield; Louis Otoff Sr., Ashland; Theron Partridge, Sr., Ashland; Andre Ramirez, Sr., Eagle Point; Gerardo Maria Herrera, Sr., Eagle Point; Carlos Vega, Jr., Thurston; Liu Walling Jr., Churchill; Aaron Martinez – Napoles Sr., Churchill; Adisen Krogh, Jr., North Eugene; Goalkeeper: Trenton Celani Jr., Eagle Point.


Tucker Hopkins, Sr., Crater; Parker Allen Jr. Crater; Jeb Galey, Jr. Crater; Bennett Palodychuk Jr. Crater; Caesar Hernandez Jr., Springfield; Clayton Winters Jr., Springfield; Lupine Buzz Jr., Ashland; Nico More Jr., Ashland; Connor Nevin Sr., Thurston; Goalkeeper: Alvin Sekskiller Jr., North Eugene, and Luis Benitez Carlos, Sr., Springfield.


player of the year: Abby Fitzpatrick, Sr., Thurston.

General coach: Benton Kanaga, Thurston.

First team

Abby Fitzpatrick, Sr., Thurston; Ella Desmora, Sr., Thurston; Jaslin Croese, Sr., North Eugene; Kendall Priulx Jr., North Eugene; Joel Anne, Sr., Ashland; Tamira Cervantes – Carlos, Springfield; Arya Soria, Sr., Churchill; Hannah Smith, Sr., North Eugene; Emily Johnson Sr., North Eugene; Kylie Jones Sr., Thurston; Elidia Cervantes-Carlos, So., Springfield; Inanna Hammond, Sr., Ashland. GK: Gabe Gilbert, Sr., Thurston.

second team

Brianna Gibbs, Sr., Ashland; Kelsey Sacraida, Jr.; Crater Renee Simmons, Sr., Thurston; Brie Raven, Sr., Thurston; Susanna Alatori, Sr., Springfield; Aliet Darcy, then, Churchill; Kara Beecraft Jr., North Eugene; Missy Taylor, So. , Thurston; Gabe Montes, So. , Thurston; Sasha Lamberth, Jr., North Eugene; Makennah Hobbs, So., North Eugene; Gillian Goggins, Sr., Springfield; Lina Capilero Utoff Jr., Ashland; Reagan Hussey, Sr., Eagle Point. GK: My name is Barnes, Sr., Ashland.


Ariana Mattox, Sr., Springfield; Lorelei Rinehart, Sr., Churchill; Addison Dibble, So. , Crater; Alyssa Ortega, Jr., Eagle Point. GK: Alexi Morgan, Sr. , Springfield, and Abigail Hollingshead, Sr. Churchill, and Addison Vranes, Jr. , Crater.

Do you have a story idea? Contact Sports Editor Chris Henry at 541-776-4488, khenry@rosebudmedia.com or via Twitter @Kris_Henry

Crater defender Brayden Tester fights for the ball against Wilsonville in the opening game of Class 5A boys’ soccer. [Andy Atkinson / Mail Tribune]

#Triple #Crater #presides #MWL #Football #Awards

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *